Halftime report—Texas 42, Baylor 31

By halftime report, I mean I’m going to write everything I can write during halftime of the Texas-Baylor game.

Joe Bergeron is having a hellofa game and looks like the real deal. Love that guy.

Otherwise, whoever kicks the most field goals loses. And since Baylor has the better field goal kicker…

• • •

I took a long look at the Texas football schedule today. The only automatic win is Kansas. Probably because the coach is Charlie Weis.

When you wash out at Notre Dame, I guess you get to coach at Kansas as a consolation prize. Or commentate for ESPN (that’s for you, Lou).

I think the Longhorns could lose to Iowa State, Texas Tech, Kansas State (for sure) and TCU. Hell, the Longhorns could blow it in the second half against Baylor.

• • •

The biggest upset of the day? In my opinion, Oklahoma State over Iowa state, 31-10. Did not see that coming.

• • •

Best game of the day? Texas Tech in overtime over TCU, 56-10.

• • •

Okay, on to other things. Specifically, Lance Armstrong.

So now the whole world knows about Lance Armstrong’s performance enhancing drug use. I pretty much feel the same way as when I heard Elton John announce that he’s gay. I’m not surprised, and I don’t care.

Like I’ve said before, most Austinites are more concerned about Armstrong’s drinking problem than his drug use.

• • •

I know I don’t have many readers. But when two of them are wine writer John Cesano and political writer James Moore, it makes it worth the time. Cheers.

-30-

One thought on “Halftime report—Texas 42, Baylor 31

  1. John Cesano says:

    On Armstrong:
    Does half a billion dollars raised to fight cancer excuse cheating and lying? Wasn’t having one less ball to smash against a bicycle seat advantage enough? Why not have come out a long time ago and admit you cheated in a sport of cheaters, and the 7 wins proves you are the best cheater? Did you ever feel that Mr. Cancer fighter leaving Sheryl Crow just as she faced breast cancer seemed less than optimal public relations? Bicycle riding is a sport?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

