April madness, no foolin’

I pick Louisville to win it all.

It’s 9 a.m. Central time, so I think I got that prediction in on time. Otherwise, I just don’t make brackets for the NCAA Championship, because I don’t track losers.

Unless you’re one of those who think that everyone who participates in the tournament is a winner. If so, enjoy that Little League trophy you won for showing up.

Sure, I get it. Just being able to play means you’re a winner. Just being healthy enough to show up means you’re a winner.

Unless you’re an actual participant, of course. Like I was in wrestling tournaments in high school. You either win it all, or you lose. And if you’re a competitive athlete, that’s the way you look at it.

If you don’t look at it that way, then you’re not a competitive athlete at all. You’re a loser.

Most of us wind up losing, regardless. The SID at Sonoma State U. told me once, “The better you are as an athlete or a team, the more likely it is that you’ll finish the season with a loss.”

He’s right. Sixty-eight teams competed in the NCAA Basketball Championships, and only one will finish the year with a win.

I bet it’s Louisville.

-30-

2 thoughts on “April madness, no foolin’

  1. John Cesano says:

    So, there I was, watching the Louisville game, thinking maybe you picked a day too soon. Louisville didn’t play great today but, after playing well for much of the game, Wichita St decided not to either.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. True. But Michigan pulled one of the biggest chokes ever and still won.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

